Portable Indoor & Outdoor Lighting With The Menu Carrie Lamp

Since moving to the Forest of Dean in December, Sean and I have enjoyed exploring the local area which is completely new to us. It’s such a beautiful place to live; very relaxing, amazing scenery, and lots of outdoor activities to take part in. Being outdoors more is one of the reasons we moved here. It’s also been fantastic to finally have our own garden to spend time in. As we live in a very rural village, outdoor lighting has been something we’ve been focussing on a lot. I love festoon lights and hurricane lamps to add ambience and atmosphere to outdoor spaces. I’ve never seen anything quite like the Menu Carrie Lamp, however.

outdoor lighting

I’ve been fortunate enough to spend some time trying out this lamp at my home, and you can read on for my full review. Spoiler alert: I love it. I’m also really excited because, at the end of this post, I’m running a giveaway so one reader can win their own Menu Carrie Lamp from Nest.co.uk.

What is the Menu Carrie LED Lamp?

It’s a thing of beauty, really. The Carrie Lamp is both an indoor and outdoor LED lamp which is easily portable so you can take it out with you whenever you leave the house. It’s basically an LED lamp that has a removable handle, so you can leave it sitting on a surface or carry it around with you. But it’s also a very beautifully designed item. The body and handle are black powder-coated steel. The lamp itself is mouthblown opal glass with an acid finish. It’s stunning to look at. It’s also lightweight and easy to carry with you. Designed by Norm Architects, it is inspired by the Danish word Hygge, meaning warm and cosy. It has the simplistic design characteristic of Hygge, and emits a warm LED light which is a perfect replacement for candles.

outdoor lighting

The lamp’s main features

Aside from looking gorgeous, the lamp is really well designed for its purpose. It is lightweight, and easy to carry around. The handle is really easy to take off and put back on with its little chrome screws. It is charged via USB, so it’s easy to charge up and take out with you wherever you go. The lamp also has three settings, controlled by a little button on the base. It has three light strengths and at its brightest setting is extremely bright and able to light up the darkest area with its warm light.

outdoor lighting

We took it out on an evening walk which passes through an old railway tunnel. You can see here the lovely warm light it casts around it to show the way. This is the lamp at its brightest setting.

outdoor lighting

Ideas for using it

Since it works both inside and outside, it’s really versatile and has a lot of uses. It’s been lovely to take out on walks, and actually is a bit of a conversation starter with other walkers who want to know what it is. We’ve not yet taken it to the beach but it would work really well there (just be careful with sand in the little hole where the charger plugs in). We are also going to take it to a festival this summer.

Outdoor picnics are also the perfect location to use the lamp. You don’t have to worry about lighting candles or having them blow out. The warm glow creates a really romantic atmosphere if you’re having a picnic date, too.

We’ve also loved it when having dinner al fresco (a.k.a. in our garden). We have a space at the end of our garden which has a gorgeous view, but it’s a distance from the house. There’s no light out there whatsoever so we’ve placed it on the table in the evenings. It creates the warm Hygge feeling as dusk rolls in.

outdoor lighting

I also really like it as a bedside lamp and for when I’m reading in a corner in the living room. It’s so cosy and I can’t wait to use it in the winter when the nights set in earlier. I’m picturing blankets and hot chocolate while catching up on Netflix.

outdoor lighting

My final thoughts

The possibilities are endless with this lamp due to its portability. Unless you’re looking for an extremely high powered torch when out and about at night, this really is an ideal piece of outdoor lighting. Its light is bright, but gentle at the same time. The different brightness settings are a lovely feature. I’ve found the lowest setting is perfect for when having outdoor drinks with friends. It’s not dazzling to look at and instead just casts that characteristic warm glow that creates atmosphere.

The powder coated steel handle softens the feel of it, and it has more of a luxurious feel than an industrial feel when you carry it around. At one point, I hadn’t tightened the screws to the handle well enough and the base spun around. I was terrified the glass orb was about to drop out as it flipped upside down, and smash on the floor. It stayed put however, as it is secured very strongly and will not fall out.

outdoor lighting

I also like the simplistic design of it, and the unobtrusive charger port and on/off switch. I’ve also found that I’ve not needed to charge it yet despite it being on for several hours over several days.

outdoor lighting

At £119 this is not an inexpensive lamp. This is balanced out, however, by the versatility of the lamp and its craftsmanship and design features, I believe. If you are looking for an LED lamp that works both indoors and outdoors, is easy to carry, reliable and well-made, plus looks stylish and beautiful at the same time, the Carrie Lamp is one I would have no hesitation in recommending to you.

The giveaway

As I mentioned at the start of this post, one lucky reader will win their own Carrie Lamp from Nest.co.uk. All you have to do to enter is complete any or all of the options in the Gleam app below. At the end of the giveaway I will select a random winner and pass the winner’s details on to Nest.co.uk for delivery of the lamp.

The giveaway will close at midnight on Thursday 31 August, and is open to readers in the UK only.

Good luck!

Win a Menu Carrie Lamp from Nest.co.uk worth £119

The lamp was kindly gifted to me by Nest.co.uk for the purposes of publishing my review, and to enable me to run this giveaway. As always, words and opinions are my own and are 100% honest. For more information, please read my full disclosure here

Never Miss A Post

Delivered straight to your inbox: product discoveries, my favourite tips and tricks, new giveaways, and before and after photos of my house.

Powered by ConvertKit
Share:

155 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    August 9, 2017 / 7:46 am

    In our garden and when we go camping!

  2. Frances H
    August 9, 2017 / 10:04 am

    As a night-light for the kids until they’re asleep.

  3. Suzanne
    August 9, 2017 / 10:21 am

    It would be great for my garden and allotment.

  4. Kevin000
    August 9, 2017 / 11:36 am

    In the warm evenings in the garden

  5. iain maciver
    August 9, 2017 / 12:12 pm

    camping would be perfect and nights in the garden

  6. Tony Metcalfe
    August 9, 2017 / 12:22 pm

    It would be great for using in the garden, having a glass or two of wine maybe.

  7. Phil Reeves
    August 9, 2017 / 12:46 pm

    A dull spot at the bottom of the garden.

  8. Margaret Clarkson
    August 9, 2017 / 1:19 pm

    The part of my garden we refer to as “Mirkwood”

  9. Martina Pichova
    August 9, 2017 / 1:21 pm

    In the garden on autumn evenings and on our camping trips.

  10. Sue McCarthy
    August 9, 2017 / 1:28 pm

    In the lounge instead of the main light; more romantic!

  11. Chris Andrews
    August 9, 2017 / 1:54 pm

    Where would you like to take the Carrie Lamp if you won? . . . mainly in the garden but also take it with us when we go camping

  12. August 9, 2017 / 2:03 pm

    I’d use this in my garden in the evenings and on camping trips.

  13. Judith Lightfoot
    August 9, 2017 / 2:23 pm

    Just perfect for glamping

  14. Margaret gallagher maggz1967@hotmail.co.uk Margaret gallagher
    August 9, 2017 / 3:15 pm

    Love to take yo the farm we stay ar6

  15. Maggie Norvell
    August 9, 2017 / 4:32 pm

    It would be brilliant when we go away in our camper van !

  16. Denise Davies
    August 9, 2017 / 4:41 pm

    For those gardens at dusk

  17. Daniela
    August 9, 2017 / 4:41 pm

    This would be a great addition to my garden!

  18. Ashleigh Allan
    August 9, 2017 / 5:29 pm

    Into the garden

  19. Kim Styles
    August 9, 2017 / 5:29 pm

    we would take it camping ! what a lovely little lamp

  20. Iona Cornish
    August 9, 2017 / 5:39 pm

    Camping at Findhorn on the Moray Firth

  21. Alica
    August 9, 2017 / 5:49 pm

    I would use it in the garden on summer evenings 🙂

  22. Danica Clarke
    August 9, 2017 / 6:21 pm

    I live out in the countryside and would use it in the garden 🙂

  23. Kim M
    August 9, 2017 / 6:30 pm

    It would be great in my garden x

  24. Sharon Morrison
    August 9, 2017 / 6:51 pm

    I’d use it in the garden, it would be great when we’re watching and feeding the hedgehog that comes to visit

  25. laura stewart
    August 9, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    in my garden would be lovely x

  26. Jessica Barber
    August 9, 2017 / 7:50 pm

    In my garden for outdoor evening yoga practice!

  27. Caroline Hunter
    August 9, 2017 / 8:08 pm

    To my nest outdoor evening event, it will be a great lamp to have 🙂

  28. Louisa
    August 9, 2017 / 9:00 pm

    Camping with the kids

  29. Karen hutchinson
    August 9, 2017 / 9:47 pm

    Give to my son to take on his first beavers camp

  30. Sarah Mackay
    August 9, 2017 / 10:39 pm

    Camping in the north of scotland

  31. amanda walsh
    August 9, 2017 / 10:55 pm

    It would be great for camping or just sitting out in the garden

  32. Anthony Harrington
    August 9, 2017 / 11:05 pm

    this would be for our Daughter for her camping trips

  33. Solange
    August 9, 2017 / 11:55 pm

    I’d use this in my garden and on camping trips.

  34. Graham Ross
    August 10, 2017 / 8:54 am

    This would would come in useful for camping

  35. Stacy Fenemore
    August 10, 2017 / 9:05 am

    the garden, to read a book

  36. Sheena Batey
    August 10, 2017 / 9:51 am

    If I won this lamp I would take it camping to North Wales.

  37. Nicki Evans
    August 10, 2017 / 12:08 pm

    For walks by the river

  38. August 10, 2017 / 1:48 pm

    I would love this for in the garden for a little glass of wine on the bench with a soft glow at the side.

  39. Kath Amis
    August 10, 2017 / 5:43 pm

    It would look lovely in my garden at night

  40. Jade Pawley
    August 10, 2017 / 6:10 pm

    I’d use it in the garden! When I go out to the tumble dryer or go round to the side gate to let my brother in!

  41. Kayleigh Watkins
    August 10, 2017 / 6:35 pm

    Th

  42. Kayleigh Watkins
    August 10, 2017 / 6:37 pm

    This would be perfect to take camping with us, especially when our children need the toilet at night and we have to walk to the toilet block, it would also be lovely for evenings in the garden xxx

  43. cat williams
    August 11, 2017 / 12:44 am

    This is so nice! I’d love to take it on our camping trips to use as a reading light/toilet trip light. I’d love uber stylish

  44. William Gould
    August 11, 2017 / 8:33 am

    This would be great for the after dark trip to the bins and shed in our back garden!

  45. Kerry Oneill
    August 11, 2017 / 10:06 am

    My garden and as a night light for my youngest . Lovely lamp

  46. BERNIE
    August 11, 2017 / 11:07 am

    To the gym on the dark winter mornings.

  47. Ruth Harwood
    August 11, 2017 / 1:11 pm

    To my friends garden party and bbq that can last well into the evening – this would light up the whole thing!!

  48. Suzanne Jackson
    August 11, 2017 / 2:26 pm

    In the garden to read a book by in the evening

  49. Rosie Miller
    August 11, 2017 / 2:43 pm

    In the garden with a glass of wine and a blanket!

  50. Anneka Avery
    August 11, 2017 / 3:47 pm

    It would go to many many places with me! What an amazing product and great review!

  51. Lori Mckillop
    August 11, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    Drinking cider in the garden on warm nights! x

  52. Danielle Spencer
    August 11, 2017 / 8:03 pm

    I would love to take this is the garden on a lovely evening to watch the bunnies play.

  53. Sue Johnson
    August 11, 2017 / 8:28 pm

    Lovely for late supper in garden

  54. hannah Wood
    August 11, 2017 / 9:07 pm

    In the garden for sure.

  55. Bryan Murphy
    August 11, 2017 / 10:13 pm

    In mind man cave

  56. James McLaughlin
    August 12, 2017 / 7:45 am

    In the garden after a BBQ. As a night light for our daughter and on camping trips. It looks lovely and so many uses

  57. Sarah Fielding
    August 12, 2017 / 1:57 pm

    I would take it with me when I go camping!

  58. Stevie
    August 12, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    I’d like to take the lamp on a trip around Scotland.

  59. lorraine kirk
    August 12, 2017 / 9:19 pm

    I would like to take it into the garden 🙂

  60. lynn savage
    August 12, 2017 / 9:32 pm

    This would be great to use in the garden on summer evenings

  61. Ailsa
    August 13, 2017 / 5:54 am

    This looks perfect for camping and it looks beautiful!

  62. Pam Francis Gregory
    August 13, 2017 / 8:49 am

    When we go camping in Bewdley

  63. Isabel O
    August 13, 2017 / 2:13 pm

    Probably out in mums garden when we have a nice warm evening outside.

  64. Laura Pritchard
    August 13, 2017 / 2:43 pm

    We’d take it glamping with us!

  65. Vicki Nicholls
    August 13, 2017 / 5:42 pm

    We’d take it on evening dog walks through the woods, and across the fields.

  66. Nicola Marshall
    August 13, 2017 / 6:15 pm

    I would use it for a night light in the kids bedroom .

  67. Clare B
    August 14, 2017 / 9:28 am

    I’d use this Carrie lamp in our garden so we can watch the stars in the dark skies where we live

  68. judy kenendy
    August 14, 2017 / 3:57 pm

    When I visit my shed at the garden and its pitch black

  69. Emma Lynaugh
    August 14, 2017 / 10:58 pm

    I’d take it along to an abandoned building and use it to backlight my photography.

  70. Marie Jacobs
    August 15, 2017 / 1:48 am

    When I go camping

  71. Paul Ballantine
    August 15, 2017 / 5:26 am

    I’d take it on our night time sea fishing trips to silloth. It would be perfect for us to see what we are doing while baiting up and unhooking fish

  72. Sally Collingwood
    August 15, 2017 / 2:21 pm

    It might be handy for the garden shed at night for my husband, I won’t go in there in the dark!

  73. Mary H
    August 15, 2017 / 3:58 pm

    This would be perfect for the garden in the evenings or finding the loo in a dark campsite!

  74. Amanda Noble
    August 15, 2017 / 4:02 pm

    I would take it camping as we go quite a lot and i would use it as a bed side lamp to read by

  75. Tracey Susan Anderson
    August 15, 2017 / 10:40 pm

    This would be a very welcome treat to take with us on our adventures in Snowdonia 🙂 x

  76. Carole Nott
    August 16, 2017 / 5:47 pm

    Outside to my garden – looks perfect

  77. jacqui rankine
    August 17, 2017 / 1:06 am

    when we go evening walks

  78. OP
    August 17, 2017 / 5:41 pm

    Outside

  79. Simon Tinsley
    August 17, 2017 / 8:50 pm

    There’s an old, abandoned secret cold war shelter in a field a few miles from me. It’s very dark in there, but awesome. It’ll be more awesome with this than a torch.

  80. Tammy Artherton
    August 17, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    MY GARDEN

  81. Michael Griffin
    August 18, 2017 / 3:02 pm

    In the summerhouse

  82. Denielle Nicol
    August 18, 2017 / 3:09 pm

    I would use it in my lounge as it’s stunning and interesting and also for entertaining on my balcony

  83. jo liddement
    August 18, 2017 / 3:57 pm

    I would use this lamp out on my patio as the sun goes down.

  84. Judith Allen
    August 18, 2017 / 10:56 pm

    Would be great it my parents’ conservatory, could do with more light at night, and you could take it outside too.

  85. Jayne Townson
    August 19, 2017 / 5:39 pm

    I would use this in my garden all the time and take it with me next time we go camping.

  86. Lynn Woodcock
    August 20, 2017 / 9:20 am

    Camping in the van, ideal for finding the toilet block after dark!

  87. Deborah Walker
    August 20, 2017 / 11:56 am

    In the garden for a late supper

  88. Rebecca Brown
    August 21, 2017 / 1:19 pm

    This would definitely be my new reading lamp, whether I’m indoors or out – it looks perfect for taking to all my cosy book corners!

  89. debbie smith
    August 21, 2017 / 1:43 pm

    id have this in my room for reading fab giveaway xx

  90. Susan B
    August 21, 2017 / 6:20 pm

    My garden would be top of the list but we have a dark path at the back that it would be useful for, too, along with the under stair cupboard..

  91. MARK HOPKINS
    August 21, 2017 / 8:35 pm

    I’d take it on my camping trips.

  92. Emma Louise Elliott
    August 22, 2017 / 7:57 am

    I would love this lamp for our garden xxx

  93. Jacki Mactaggart
    August 23, 2017 / 3:35 pm

    I would take it out when I do last visit to check on our pony Harry. Looks gorgeous

  94. Lindsey Loughtman
    August 25, 2017 / 4:59 pm

    It would perfect for a camping holiday. I’d charge it with my new solar powered charger!

  95. Charlotte Carter-Dunn
    August 25, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    I’d take it camping with me 🙂

  96. Catriona Hutchinson
    August 26, 2017 / 6:27 pm

    I’m hoping to challenge myself soon with a long canoeing trip – maybe somewhere wild like Canada – so this would be very useful! Certainly no street lights on the Yukon

  97. Samantha Atherton
    August 26, 2017 / 7:07 pm

    I’d use it round the garden, when we go camping and take it with us when we go for walks down the coastal paths to watch the sunset.

  98. emma walters
    August 27, 2017 / 7:52 am

    would be great for when we stay on the farm 🙂

  99. martha chisholm
    August 27, 2017 / 8:37 pm

    Most likely the garden but really the possibilities are endless

  100. Sophie D
    August 27, 2017 / 9:02 pm

    To the bench that is ‘my place’ at the end of the garden

  101. Monica Gilbert
    August 28, 2017 / 12:04 am

    I’d take it out into the garden.

  102. Emily C
    August 28, 2017 / 11:42 am

    It would come with me onto the balcony at night so I can read with a cup of tea.

  103. Naila
    August 28, 2017 / 3:39 pm

    Great giveaway!

  104. Jodie A Green
    August 28, 2017 / 8:23 pm

    perfect for the back garden or when we go camping!

  105. Pauline black
    August 29, 2017 / 8:06 am

    Camping at glen affric!

  106. Amy Dacre
    August 29, 2017 / 10:19 am

    I’d use it in my garden

  107. James Travis
    August 29, 2017 / 7:04 pm

    Use it in my garden

  108. carol boffey
    August 29, 2017 / 7:13 pm

    in the garden

  109. Charlie Lovatt
    August 29, 2017 / 7:28 pm

    I’d use it in the garden and loan it to my parents when they camp. It’s so beautiful, I love the idea of sitting with it under the stars

  110. donna l jones
    August 29, 2017 / 7:31 pm

    camping

  111. Nicola Andrijauskas
    August 29, 2017 / 7:35 pm

    I would take it up to my snuggly bed and read my book!

  112. Karen Richards
    August 29, 2017 / 8:35 pm

    Out the garden and also great around the house if we have a powercut

  113. Chris Fletcher
    August 29, 2017 / 9:20 pm

    It would be great down our garden in the evenings!

  114. Ellen Stafford
    August 29, 2017 / 9:53 pm

    Camping it would be fab!

  115. Jordan Jarmain
    August 29, 2017 / 11:33 pm

    I think this would make a great lamp for my little girl to use as she’s potty training at the minute and sometimes gets up during the night to go.

  116. Deborah Hambleton
    August 30, 2017 / 1:40 pm

    My mother in law lives in a dark country area and I always have problems negotiating the route to her house if we go out at night – this would be perfect

  117. sheri Darby
    August 30, 2017 / 2:41 pm

    I would take it when walking the dog at night

  118. Christine Caple
    August 30, 2017 / 3:08 pm

    I would use it for trips to the summerhouse in the garden.

  119. Laura Muir
    August 30, 2017 / 3:12 pm

    id take it camping with us so I can read outside around the fire

  120. ADEINNE TONNER
    August 30, 2017 / 4:10 pm

    I would take it with my family when we go camping in Scotland

  121. Karen Usher
    August 30, 2017 / 4:46 pm

    I have a little cabin out the back that I call “The parents retreat” would be a lovely little light to pop in there.

  122. janine atkin
    August 30, 2017 / 6:54 pm

    id take it to the garden

  123. Amanda Tanner
    August 30, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    Beach party

  124. sandy ralph
    August 30, 2017 / 9:10 pm

    in my garden

  125. Hazel Rea
    August 30, 2017 / 9:51 pm

    It would be so useful in the garden in the evenings. We often have to go slug hunting in the dark to protect our plants so this would be much better than a torch.

  126. Katie Skeoch
    August 31, 2017 / 8:18 am

    Id love to take it with us to the Aussie outback, it’d be a great light there in the darkness

  127. Stewart Biddle
    August 31, 2017 / 8:27 am

    I would take it canping

  128. Deirdre M
    August 31, 2017 / 9:37 am

    In the garden, allowing me to enjoy some quiet relaxation time outside as the evenings draw in!

  129. Melanie Burton
    August 31, 2017 / 11:00 am

    When I go camping.

  130. Hayley Colburn
    August 31, 2017 / 12:10 pm

    It would be great for outdoors in the evenings, our garden has no outdoor light and as our house is rented, I can;t go drilling holes in the walls to fit one so it would be great for that

  131. john prendergast
    August 31, 2017 / 1:34 pm

    i would use it for camping

  132. Joanna Ford
    August 31, 2017 / 1:59 pm

    When I go camping in Latvia

  133. Gem Cook
    August 31, 2017 / 3:16 pm

    On our camping hols.

  134. paula cheadle
    August 31, 2017 / 4:17 pm

    when we go camping

  135. Jo Hutchinson
    August 31, 2017 / 4:51 pm

    It would be great for warm evenings in the garden

  136. sue mcdermott
    August 31, 2017 / 4:59 pm

    Camping!

  137. Allan Fullarton
    August 31, 2017 / 5:03 pm

    It would be great for my garden,

  138. Elaine Skye Clarke
    August 31, 2017 / 6:42 pm

    I’d take it to our caravan in North Yorkshire…it would be used constantly indoors and out. Great for evenings sat outside .!

  139. Chris Hobbs
    August 31, 2017 / 6:49 pm

    Great for the garden and house. Its easily transportable so the uses are endless.

  140. Nancy Bradford
    August 31, 2017 / 7:10 pm

    I’d like to take it with us camping in Somerset x

  141. Hayley Todd
    August 31, 2017 / 8:07 pm

    I absolutely adore this lamp! It’s perfect for taking on holiday with us, so we can sit outside the cottages, or tents, depending on what type of holiday we go on. It’s also perfect for using in the evenings in the garden, sitting outside with a glass of wine and a book!

  142. Carol Phile
    August 31, 2017 / 9:04 pm

    Down the garden in the morning so I can see to throw my dog’s ball

  143. Rachel Craig
    August 31, 2017 / 9:06 pm

    Would be gift for friend, for use when walking dog at night.

  144. Fiona jk42
    August 31, 2017 / 9:16 pm

    I’d use it in the garden when we sit out in the evenings

  145. CAROL PATTRICK
    August 31, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    It would be godsend for me as I am disabled and we live in a rural village, prone to powercuts. Also our fusebox trips are sensitive – if a light bulb pops it will plunge us into darkness until the trip is switched back.

  146. Adrian Bold
    August 31, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    We go camping a lot, so something like this would be ideal!

  147. Karen Walder
    August 31, 2017 / 9:58 pm

    I’d take it out to the bottom of our garden which is quite dark at night!

  148. Jo Hutchings
    August 31, 2017 / 10:08 pm

    I’d love to take it on a camping trip.

  149. Emma Walton
    August 31, 2017 / 10:22 pm

    I would like to take it fishing.

  150. August 31, 2017 / 10:29 pm

    I’d love to have it in my conservatory, then take it out into the garden on an evening

  151. Marie Rule
    August 31, 2017 / 10:35 pm

    I would take it into my garden.

  152. Natalie Crossan
    August 31, 2017 / 11:39 pm

    In the garden xxx

  153. ren taylor
    October 5, 2017 / 8:43 am

    Love this little lamp…shame I missed the giveaway….might buy it for myself for Xmas

  154. Amy Fidler
    November 29, 2017 / 9:55 am

    Such a great idea xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *